WASHINGTON, D.C.  American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) Senior Director of Fuels & Vehicle Policy Patrick Kelly today issued the following statement in response to the Environmental Protection Agency’s decision to grant RVP petitions and expand E15 sales in select Midwest states beginning in 2025. The final rule will remove the 1.0 psi RVP waiver from summertime gasoline in the following states: Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. 

"We’ve made clear to the administration that it’s too late for 2024 implementation and even 2025 would be problematic. Refiners start making the switch to summer production very early in the year and to minimize costs, there must be a reasonable transition to producing summer gas according to a different specification. Studies show that even with at least a two-year lead time, the RVP change will reduce overall supply, increase costs and make the region more vulnerable to supply disruptions. With less time, costs to produce and supply fuel and risks of supply disruptions could be greater." – Patrick Kelly, AFPM Senior Director of Fuels & Vehicle Policy 


Media Contact:
Rachel Farbman
About AFPM Editorial:

The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) is the leading trade association representing the makers of the fuels that keep us moving, the petrochemicals that are the essential building blocks for modern life, and the midstream companies that get our feedstocks and products where they need to go. We make the products that make life better, safer and more sustainable — we make progress.