WASHINGTON D.C. – Chet Thompson, president and CEO of the American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM), today released the following statement on proposed U.S. Senate legislation that would expand the electric vehicle tax credit by 400,000 vehicles per manufacturer:

“We strongly oppose this proposed legislation and believe that continuing to force American workers to bankroll electric vehicle purchases by the wealthiest is bad policy — especially considering that conventional fuels and vehicles have never been cleaner or more efficient. The EV tax credit was designed to sunset, and after a decade of subsidies worth billions of dollars, it’s time for EVs to compete on a level playing field.”

Media Contact:
Diana Cronan
About AFPM:

The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (“AFPM”) is a national trade association representing nearly all U.S. refining and petrochemical manufacturing capacity. AFPM members produce the fuels that drive the U.S. economy and the chemical building blocks integral to millions of products that make modern life possible.