In order to qualify for the DSA, a facility must first pass the following screening criteria.

  1. A location must achieve the following requirements for the calendar year:
    1. an employee total recordable incidence rate (TRIR) of 0.30 or less, 
    2. a contractor total recordable incidence rate (TRIR) of 0.30 or less.
  2. A location must have had no employee workplace related fatalities and no non-employee (contractor, visitor, etc.) workplace related fatalities for the previous five consecutive years.

A location must answer NO to the following questions to pass the screening criteria and be eligible to apply for the DSA award:

  1. Did the location experience a community evacuation or sheltering event, or worker/contractor hospitalization (admitted for treatment) during the evaluation period?
  2. Did the location experience a recordable injury (employee AND/OR contractor) where any of the following caused or contributed to the injury during the evaluation year?
  • Failure to isolate hazardous energy
  • Opening process equipment improperly prepared for maintenance
  • Improperly prepared or hazardous confined space
  • Improperly prepared or hazardous excavation
  • Any falls from height (>4 feet)
  • Any Tier 1 or 2 PSE
  • Contact /exposure to hazardous materials
    • H2S/HF/hydrocarbon/corrosives/electricity/radiation
  • Crane or rigging failure
  • Caught by machinery or struck by debris, equipment, or falling objects
  • Electrical work or hot work on equipment not verified as hydrocarbon free
  • Failure to verify work permit
  • Failure in PPE chosen for the task or the incorrect PPE for the task
  • Use of the correct tool incorrectly or use of incorrect tool for the task
  • Deliberately bypassing safeguards or interlocks
  • Community evacuation or sheltering event
  1. Did the location have any API RP Tier 1 Process Safety Events (PSE) that required notification to the National Response Center during the evaluation year?
    1. PSE requirements, No Tier 1 or 2 PSEs that resulted in a recordable injury
    2. No Tier 1 events that required notification to the National Response Center

Download the Safety Statistics & Awards Collection Guidance Document

Apply for the DSA Award by emailing Anna Scherer