WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) has announced the winners of the 2019 Annual Safety Awards, part of an ongoing mission to enhance and recognize outstanding workplace safety. The awards are part of a comprehensive program developed by the AFPM Safety and Health Committee to promote safe operations in the refining and petrochemical industries and to recognize facilities with outstanding occupational and process safety records.

“There is nothing more important to the fuel and petrochemical industries than safety. Our member companies go above and beyond requirements to keep our people, communities and facilities safe, and the AFPM Safety Awards recognize their strong commitment to safety and their persistence to improve on their already outstanding records,” said AFPM President and CEO Chet Thompson.

“The recipients represent leaders within our industries, and we are pleased to acknowledge these facilities for their excellent safety records, proactive programs, and impressive safety cultures,” Thompson continued.

The highest honor, the Distinguished Safety Award, is awarded to the top sites with outstanding safety performance, program innovation and safety leadership. We proudly bestow this honor on a record nine facilities this year for achieving a sustained, exemplary level of safety performance: Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP – Borger Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Company – Baton Rouge Polyolefins Plant, LyondellBasell Industries – Clinton Complex, Marathon Petroleum Corporation – Martinez Refinery, Phillips 66 – Bayway Refinery, Phillips 66 – Ferndale Refinery, Phillips 66 – Lake Charles Manufacturing Complex, Phillips 66 – Santa Maria Refinery and Phillips 66 – WRB Refining, LP - Borger Refinery.

The Elite Gold Award, which historically on average recognizes facilities with safety performances in the top one percentile and that have demonstrated superior and consistent safety performance, program innovation and leadership, has been given to eight facilities this year: Chevron U.S.A. Inc – Richmond Refinery, CITGO Petroleum Corporation – Lemont Refinery, ExxonMobil Chemical Company – Baton Rouge Chemical Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Company – Beaumont Polyethylene Plant, Flint Hills Resources, LLC – Peru Plant, LyondellBasell Industries – Chocolate Bayou Polymers Facility, LyondellBasell Industries – LaPorte Complex and LyondellBasell Industries – Matagorda Complex.

The Elite Silver Award, which recognizes those sites that have attained top industry safety performance for the application year and demonstrated excellent program innovation and leadership over time. The Elite Silver Award has historically on average recognized the top five percentile of industry safety and was awarded to eight facilities this year: Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP – Drilling Specialties Conroe Plant, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP – Orange Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Company – Pensacola Specialty Elastomers Plant, ExxonMobil Chemical Company – Baton Rouge Plastics Plant, LyondellBasell Industries – Corpus Christi Operations, LyondellBasell Industries – Edison Catalyst Manufacturing, LyondellBasell Industries – Victoria Site and Valero Energy Corporation – Wilmington Asphalt Plant.

In addition, to the winners listed above, 24 member companies received 66 Safety Achievement Awards; and thirty-two associate member companies received 447 Contractor Safety Achievement Awards for their performance in 128 facilities. For more information on the awards and winner, visit the AFPM Safety Awards on the AFPM website.  

AFPM will hold a virtual safety awards recognition on October 21 – more information will be available soon.