San Antonio, Texas – The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) today presented Senator Ted Cruz of Texas with the AFPM Leadership Award at its 117th Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas. AFPM selected Senator Cruz for the award in recognition of his ongoing support for the U.S. refining and petrochemical industries.

“Throughout his time in the Senate, Senator Cruz has been a staunch advocate for our industries,” said AFPM President Chet Thompson. “Mr. Cruz knows that a strong energy sector is good for consumers, our country, and for our economy. We thank him for his service and his tireless support.”

Senator Cruz has been a champion for U.S. refiners and petrochemical manufacturers in meetings with the President, during key policy discussions at the Iowa caucuses, and in many other high-stakes moments for the industries.