WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) is proud to announce the winners of the 2023 Annual Safety Awards, considered the refining and petrochemical industries' premier safety awards. They are part of a comprehensive program developed by the AFPM Safety and Health Committee to promote safe operations in our industries and recognize facilities that have outstanding occupational and process safety performance.

"Nothing is more important to our industries and members than the safety of our workforce and surrounding communities, which is why we have established high standards for ourselves that go beyond what the government requires. It is this continued commitment to safety that resulted in the petrochemical and refining industries ranking first and second in safety out of the nearly 500 manufacturing sectors that the government monitors. This commitment also brought about the AFPM Safety Awards to honor those whose hard work, dedication and resiliency made this safety accomplishment possible," said AFPM President and CEO Chet Thompson.

The highest honor, the Distinguished Safety Award, is awarded to the top sites with outstanding safety performance, program innovation and safety leadership. This honor was awarded to four facilities for achieving a sustained, exemplary level of safety performance: Marathon Petroleum Company – Canton Refinery; Marathon Petroleum Company – Robinson Refinery; Phillips 66 – San Francisco Refinery and Phillips 66 – Sweeny Refinery.

The Elite Platinum Safety Award recognizes sites that have demonstrated superior program innovation and leadership over time. Five sites are being honored with this award: ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – Mont Belvieu Plastics Plant; LyondellBasell Industries – Louisiana Integrated PolyEthylene JV LLC; Marathon Petroleum Company – El Paso Refinery; Phillips 66 – Ponca City Refinery and Valero Energy Corporation – Three Rivers Refinery.

The Elite Gold Award recognizes facilities with safety performances in the top five percentile and that have demonstrated superior and consistent safety performance, program innovation and leadership. Eleven facilities received Elite Gold Awards this year: Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP – Orange Plant; ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – Baton Rouge Polyolefins Plant; Baytown Chemical Plant; ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – Baytown Olefins Plant; ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – Beaumont Chemical Plant; ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – Beaumont Chemical Plant; ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company – Baytown Olefins Company – Gulf Coast Growth Ventures; LyondellBasell Industries – Corpus Christi Operations; LyondellBasell Industries – Matagorda Complex; Phillips 66 – Lake Charles Manufacturing Complex; Valero Energy Corporation – Houston Refinery; and Valero Energy Corporation – McKee Refinery.

The Elite Silver Award recognizes sites that have attained top industry safety performance for the application year and demonstrated excellent program innovation and leadership over time. The Elite Silver Award recognizes the top ten percentile of industry safety, and this year it was awarded to 15 facilities: Cheniere Energy – Corpus Christi Liquefaction; Cheniere Energy – Sabine Pass Liquefaction;

Chevron U.S.A. – El Segundo Refinery; Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP – Sweeny, Clemens & Old Ocean; Delek US – El Dorado Refinery; Delek US – Krotz Springs Refinery; HF Sinclair Corporation – Casper Refinery; HF Sinclair Corporation – Puget Sound Refinery; HF Sinclair Corporation – Navajo Refining; INVISTA – Longview Polypropylene Facility; LyondellBasell Industries – Victoria Plant; Marathon Petroleum Company – Kenai Refinery; Par Pacific Holdings, Inc. – Par Montana Refinery; Valero Energy Corporation – Wilmington Asphalt Plant; and W.R. Grace & Co. – Lake Charles Site.

The AFPM Innovation Awards recognize refineries, petrochemical facilities and their contractors that have developed unique and innovative programs or practices that effectively improve the site's safety performance for either occupational or process safety. A total of six sites received the award this year: Phillips 66 Sweeny Refinery; Valero Energy Corporation – McKee Refinery; and Valero Energy Corporation – Three Rivers Refinery for their innovative work benefitting occupational safety. Cenovus Energy – Superior Refinery; Cheniere Energy – Sabine Pass Liquefaction and Flint Hills Resources – Corpus Christi Complex all won awards for their innovations to improve process safety.

In addition, 104 operating members and 356 contractor safety achievement awards were presented in recognition of the outstanding service provided to member companies throughout the year.

Print as PDF:

Media Contact:

Rachel Farbman

media@afpm.org

202.457.0480

About AFPM Editorial:

The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) is the leading trade association representing the makers of the fuels that keep us moving, the petrochemicals that are the essential building blocks for modern life, and the midstream companies that get our feedstocks and products where they need to go. We make the products that make life better, safer and more sustainable — we make progress.

Topics

Occupational Safety

Process Safety

<u>Safety</u>