WASHINGTON, D.C. –  American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) President Charles T. Drevna issued the following statement in response to the introduction of the “Chemical Safety Improvement Act of 2013”: 

“Senators David Vitter (R-LA) and Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) are to be commended for their efforts to create a bipartisan path toward modernizing the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). AFPM looks forward to working with both Senators as they continue advancing TSCA modernization. At this time, we are reviewing the details of the legislation and look forward to continue working with the bipartisan group to ensure that the modernized TSCA is tiered, targeted and risk-based.”

AFPM member companies create the building blocks that enable American manufacturers to produce the many consumer goods used daily, from eyewear to medications, to the countless products made of plastic.