Current Regulations: Federal RFG is required in Louisville and the Covington areas, summer and winter.

In a letter dated 9/17/08, EPA waived the RFG requirements through 11:59 PM on 9/30/08 as a result of disruptions from Hurricanes Gustav and Ike.

The Kentucky Department of Agriculture, Division of Inspection and Regulation, enforces ASTM D 4814 for gasoline and ASTM D 975 for diesel fuel; see 302 Kentucky Administrative Regulations 79:010.

SB 13, signed by the Governor on 4/23/02, bans MTBE in gasoline beginning on Jan. 1, 2006. See Kentucky Revised Statutes 363.9053 

In a letter dated 9/16/16, EPA waived the federal RFG requirement until 10/6/16. 

In a multi-state letter dated 8/30/17, to address a fuel supply emergency caused by Hurricane Harvey, EPA waived the federal RFG requirements and allowed 11.5 psi RVP gasoline to be sold throughout the state through September 15. In a multi-state letter dated 9/7/17, EPA extended the RFG waiver through September 26. 

Legislature: Introduced in January 2009, SB 12 would require terminals that sell gasoline to offer fuel ethanol blended gasoline, fuel ethanol, and unblended gasoline. Terminals that only sell federal RFG shall not be required to sell unblended gasoline. Fuel ethanol-blended gasoline may be freely mixed or co-mingled with unblended gasoline and sold at retail without any penalty, fine, punishment, or regulatory impediment. 

Last updated September 2017